Manhattan Beach Police to Begin E-Bike EnforcementJan 30, 2021 08:44AM ● By Dig Mb Staff
The Manhattan Beach Police
Department has announced that starting today, it will begin enforcing local and state laws with regard to
Those laws include, but are not limited to: riding without a helmet, riding on
sidewalks, failing to stop at posted stop signs and riding on The Strand
or the bike path. Only pedestrians are allowed on The
Strand and only bicycles propelled by human power
are allowed on the bike path. (To clarify: It is permissible to ride an e-bike on the bike path if you are pedaling only with "human power." The electric power is for riding on the roadway, not on the
Note that these are not new laws or restrictions; they reflect existing and longstanding policies.
"Over the last several months, electric bikes or e-bikes have become very popular throughout the South Bay and Manhattan Beach," said Manhattan Beach Police Sergeant Tim Zins in a statement. "With the popularity of these e-bikes, we have had some safety concerns and violations of the law. The Manhattan Beach Police Department and the city of Manhattan Beach have received several complaints, ranging from kids not wearing helmets to near collisions between pedestrians and e-bike riders."
The city continues to encourage residents to get outdoors to exercise, and to familiarize themselves and their children on the laws of electric bicycles in California as well as the related Manhattan Beach Municipal Codes. Those resources are available www.citymb.info and www.PeopleForBikes.org.
Those who use an e-bike should note that California designates three classes of e-bikes:
1. Class 1: Bicycle equipped with a motor that provides assistance only when the rider is pedaling, and that ceases to provide assistance when the e-bike reaches 20 mph.
2. Class 2: Bicycles equipped with a throttle-actuated motor, that cease to provide assistance when the e-bike reaches 20 mph.
3. Class 3: Bicycle equipped with a motor that provides assistance only when the rider is pedaling, and that cease to provide assistance when the e-bike reaches 28 mph.
Helmets are required for all riders of Class 3 e-bikes. Anyone under 16 years of age may not ride a Class 3 e-bike (unless as a passenger). There are certain access restrictions for Class 3 e-bike riders.