Skip to main content


Beach Volleyball Stars Nominated for Sportswoman of the Year

Aug 31, 2014 11:26PM ● By DigMB Staff

2014 AVP Manhattan Beach Open presented by smart women's champions April Ross (left) and Kerri Walsh Jennings. Photo: AVP/Robert Beck

Two outstanding beach volleyball athletes are in the running for the Sportswoman of the Year Award for Team Sports from the Women's Sports Foundation.

Kerri Walsh Jennings, a Manhattan Beach resident, and partner April Ross are one of two duos nominated along with eight individuals for the 2014 honor. Winners will be announced at the 35th Annual Salute to Women in Sports Gala on October 15 at Cipriani Wall Street in New York City. Recipients of the Billie Jean King Contribution Award and Wilma Rudolph Courage Award will be announced, as well as the winner of the Individual Sportswoman of the Year Award.

Public voting runs through 11:59 p.m. EST on September 8. Only one vote is allowed per email address. 

Nominee selections were based on their athletic achievements between August 1, 2013, and July 31, 2014. The winners are determined by the Women's Sports Foundation's Awards Committee and the public by a 50-50 vote. The winners will be the two athletes who receive the highest combined share of a public vote (50% of the composite) and the Awards Committee vote (50% of composite).

Other nominees are: Nadine Angerer of Germany (soccer); Valerie Arioto of the United States (softball); Meryl Davis of the US (figure skating); Annika Dries of the US (water polo); Alisha Glass of the US (volleyball); Kaillie Humpries and Heather Moyse of Canada (bobsledding); Jennifer Jones of Canada (curling); Maya Moore of the US (basketball), and Florence Schelling of Switzerland (ice hockey).

Walsh Jennings and Ross have won all five AVP Tour events this season, including the prestigious Manhattan Beach Open on August 18. Two events remain on this year's AVP Tour, the final one in Huntington Beach September 18-21.

Walsh Jennings was honored with the distinction in 2006 and 2004 with then partner Misty May Treanor. Other past award recipients include Mia Hamm, Abby Wambach, Candace Parker, Alex Morgan, Serena and Venus Williams, Lisa Leslie, and other talented female athletes in team sports.

Founded in 1974 by Billie Jean King, the Women’s Sports Foundation is dedicated to creating leaders by ensuring girls access to sports. The organization's "work shapes public attitude about women’s sports and athletes, builds capacities for organizations that get girls active, ensures equal opportunities for girls and women, and supports physically and emotionally healthy lifestyles," according to their website. 

Subscribe to DigMB Emails * Don't Miss a Thing, Sign Up Today!

* indicates required
Email Format
Upcoming Events Near You

No Events in the next 21 days.

Subscribe to DigMB Emails * Don't Miss a Thing, Sign Up Today!

* indicates required
Email Format